Skwyr Court

hopeforthefuture

After the last of the worshipers left the Flower Blooming Ceremony, Sirshi, along with a few other apprentice priests, cleaned up after the ceremony. Sirshi didn’t know any of their names, nor did she particularly care. While Master Moudren was the head priest of Skwyr Court’s temple, other priests served as well, trading off days for the Sun Welcoming Ceremony every morning, and performing other ceremonies, like welcoming newborns into the temple. As such, she occasionally ran into the other priests and their apprentices, but she’d never had to learn the other apprentices’ names. Sirshi considered this a point of pride.

After they were finished clearing the temple and putting everything back where it belonged, the other priests left with their apprentices. Sirshi made her way to Master Moudren’s office, where the woman herself was waiting for her.

Master Moudren smiled and stood up.

“You did a good job today with the Flower Blooming Ceremony,” she said. “When you go on your fifth-year assignment, you will be in charge of the ceremony, and I think you’re well on your way to being prepared for it.”

Sirshi bowed, feeling her face flush a little.

“Thank you, Master Moudren.”

Master Moudren returned to the seat at her desk.

“Did you get along with the other apprentices?”

Sirshi nodded, her mind still on the Flower Blooming Ceremony. She’d managed to stay calm through the entire ceremony, which she thought was an accomplishment, considering neither Roshil nor Aonva had opted to go. Roshil had been worried about the previous year, and Aonva had refused to go without Roshil.

“How are your friends?” Master Moudren asked. “I didn’t see either of them there. I hope Apprentices Roshil and Aonva know they are always welcome in Olmgra’s house.”

We welcome them,” Sirshi muttered.

“Have other people been causing them problems?”

Sirshi had a clear memory of the previous year. Being nervous about helping with the ceremony, but seeing a crowd of people cast her friends out. She’d wanted to scream at them to get lost, but she was certain that wasn’t okay.

“Yeah, but that’s how people are.” Sirshi felt her temper rising, and tried to keep it in check. “People avoid them at meals, harass them when they think no one’s looking, treat them both like they’re—”

“If either girl is having problems,” Master Moudren said, a frown on her face, “I would hope Our Lord High Artisan or Master Kaernin would be made aware of this.”

“I don’t know. Maybe. I don’t think either of them wants to cause problems.” Sirshi folded her arms. “And neither will tell me who’s giving them problems. I’ll make sure it stops.”

“With a strongly worded lecture, I hope.”

The way Master Moudren said that caused Sirshi to realize she was getting angry again. She unfolded her arms and sat up straight.

“So long as they know that we welcome them here, and that’s all that matters. Moving on, there’s something else I’d like to discuss.”

“Something else I’d like to discuss” sounded like “Something else Sirshi needs to be doing”, which sounded like more work. Had she been forgetting something? Sirshi couldn’t think of anything, but maybe there was something about which she’d forgotten. Her parents had always found something about which she’d forgotten. Not to shout at the table, not to talk at the table, not to show her face when company was over, not to talk back to her parents, not to talk back to her sister, not to talk at all…

“Each temple provides assistance to the community in some way. The priests of Yvgrengher provide access to books and literature, priests of Melndn help people live with fear, and priests of Rendlok assist artisans in construction.”

Sirshi nodded. This all sounded familiar to her. She’d served at each of the temples, even if she had already known where she’d wanted to be.

“I remember.”

“Good. Do you remember what priests of Olmgra are supposed to do?”

“Spread hope in the community.”

Master Moudren smiled, but not like other adults smiled. When they smiled, it was because they were about to load up Sirshi with extra work because she’d made a mistake, or because they were delighted by how miserable Sirshi was about to be. Master Moudren was proud of her. No one else had ever been proud of her for anything.

“Very good. Given that people aren’t your expertise, I wanted to talk about ways in which we can spread hope.”

Sirshi sat and listened as Master Moudren gave her an overview of various ways in which priests spread hope. A lot of it was dealing with other peoples’ problems, assuring them that it wasn’t the end of the world, and that they could keep pushing forward no matter what.

That began to worry Sirshi. She wasn’t any good at any of it. She didn’t like listening to other peoples’ problems, despite often listening to those of Roshil or Aonva. In that matter, she rarely had a choice, apart from moving away from her friends at meals, and she didn’t care enough. She ate and half listened to them talk, knowing that eventually the other would chime in and all Sirshi had to do was agree with something. At least, that’s how it went when Aonva had some sort of problem, usually involving a textbook she’d only read ten times, and was afraid that she needed to read it ten more in order to be prepared.

When Sirshi left that morning for class, she still wasn’t certain about it. But she knew she needed to. It was the responsibility of a priest of Olmgra to spread hope in the community. Why did it have to be that? Why couldn’t their community service have been leaving people in the community alone?

She couldn’t let Master Moudren down, though. She had to start learning how to bring hope to people. One day, she’d be a priest of Olmgra, and that would be part of it.

Unless not being able to meant she couldn’t be a priest.

#VolumeThree #HopeForTheFuture

“Good morning, Sirshi.”

Sirshi was already cleaning up after the Sun Welcoming Ceremony, when Oshal, Kurgm, and another boy she didn’t know came up to her. She thought she’d seen him the day before at the Flower Blooming Ceremony.

“Hi, Oshal,” she said, knowing that if she acknowledged anyone else, Kurgm in particular, they’d start talking and never stop.

“This is Apprentice Zifor,” Oshal said, motioning to his other friend. “Zifor, this is Apprentice Sirshi.”

“It’s nice to meet you!” Zifor shouted.

Sirshi stared at him for a moment. “Sure.”

She returned her focus to sweeping the floor, hoping the others would leave her alone. It wasn’t that she didn’t like Oshal; he could tell when she wanted to be left alone, unlike his sister. She kept talking, but in a way that wasn’t as annoying as everyone else, so Sirshi didn’t mind her as much.

“We’ll let you get back to your work,” Oshal said. “Make today a bright day.”

“You too,” Sirshi replied.

“It was nice to meet you,” Zifor said in a slightly quieter voice than before.

“Sure.”

While Zifor and Oshal left, Kurgm stayed behind. Sirshi sensed he was about to talk to her about something.

“He’s actually really nice,” Kurgm said, motioning behind him. “And doesn’t usually shout like that.”

“Okay.”

“His parents come here every day, and he wanted to try coming back.”

“I don’t remember asking.”

She remembered what Master Moudren had told her the previous day. Did spreading hope mean listening to peoples’ problems? It certainly meant dealing with people. Kurgm was a knight, wasn’t he? Weren’t they supposed to be good at helping people?

Knowing she would regret it later, she asked Kurgm.

“You’re a knight. How do you deal with people?”

Kurgm stepped out of her way as she moved with the broom.

“Well first, I wouldn’t use the words ‘deal with people’. A lot of it’s listening to their problems.”

“Ugh.”

“What? I thought that’s what you did with Roshil.”

“Have you ever tried getting her and Aonva to stop talking?”

Kurgm opened his mouth, but Sirshi wasn’t waiting for an answer.

“It’s pointless. They keep talking to you anyway. Aonva goes on and on about some exam she has, or some work she’s doing, like anyone cares that it’s perfect. I get by just fine with the effort I put in.”

“I’m going to guess that you don’t put in much effort.”

Sirshi shrugged. “I put in what I need to.”

Kurgm didn’t say anything for a moment. That was fine with Sirshi. She continued sweeping the temple while he kept out of her way.

“Doesn’t my sister usually drag you away by now?”

“She’s giving me some time to myself. Not a lot, though.”

“Still trying to figure out why no one likes you?”

“What?”

“Whatever your problem was that you went into the Meditation Room for. Something about not having any friends.”

“Oh, that. Everything’s fine now. Just having some trouble fitting in with my new friends.”

“It’s just as well. Roshil gets annoyed when I mention you, then immediately changes the subject.”

Sirshi realized she’d never thought about why Roshil did that. This was followed by the realization that she also didn’t care why Roshil did that.

“Well, I don’t know why she’d be annoyed. I mean, me and Aonva—”

“Didn’t ask, don’t care.”

Sirshi finished sweeping and walked over to the utility closet to get the cloths to clean the statue.

“See, that’s the wrong attitude to take when helping people.”

“Who said I need to help people? I don’t need to help them, I just need to make them feel better about the future or something. I’m spreading hope.”

“Well, what do you hope for?”

“That this conversation won’t be long.”

Sirshi rubbed the base of the statue with a damp cloth.

“If you push people away, it’s going to be hard to make them feel better about the future. Why not say something like ‘I’m sure it’ll be okay’?”

“I’m sure it’ll be okay,” Sirshi said without a hint of enthusiasm.

“Hm. Needs work. Maybe try smiling?”

Sirshi turned away from the statue and spread her mouth wide, showing her teeth.

Kurgm took a step back.

“I think you’re fine without the smile.”

Sirshi’s face returned to its neutral stance of informing everyone around her to go away.

“What was the point of that?” she asked. “Does that actually work with people?”

“Sometimes. Honestly, I’m not good at this either.”

“I noticed. Are you sure you don’t have knight things to do?”

“No, I’m free for a few minutes.”

“Great. I’m so happy for you.”

“That’s better, but say it like you mean it.”

“What if I don’t mean it?”

“Don’t you want to help people? Isn’t that why you became an apprentice?”

“My parents made me become an apprentice. The only choice I got was my specialization, and they wouldn’t have let me stay a priest if not for my sister.”

“I remember, I was there for that. But Our Lady Exalted Priest must’ve seen something in you to accept your application.”

Sirshi shrugged and turned her attention to a stubborn smudge on the statue’s robe.

“You’d have to ask her. I don’t know why she let me in, but I don’t question it.”

“Maybe you should ask more questions?”

“Here’s one: Don’t you have somewhere else to be?”

“You already asked that. I’m glad that you’re worried about me being late, though.”

Sirshi wondered if Kurgm was intentionally ignoring her tone, or if he really was that bad at picking up social cues. Then again, she wasn’t sure Roshil would notice her tone either. Oshal would probably pick up on it, but he was so sweet that she felt bad snapping at him.

“Why don’t you try practicing on me? Pretend I’m upset about something.”

Sirshi rolled her eyes, then glanced around to make sure Master Moudren hadn’t seen her do that. She sighed, then put down the cloth.

“Be happy.”

“I want to be, but life’s just so tough.”

“Sure it is. Get over it.”

“Well… um… I don’t know if I’m going to be a good apprentice.”

“So what? If people don’t think you’re good enough, that’s their problem. Who cares what they think? Be better than them out of spite. And when you’re the next great master, on your way to an officer, you can turn back to them and laugh at them. And when their children want an apprenticeship, you can say ‘Well, I don’t know if you’re court material. Such a shame that your parents are a complete waste of space that never loved you. Better luck next time.’”

Kurgm stared at her open mouthed. Sensing that he wasn’t going to talk again for a while, Sirshi returned to cleaning the statue.

“It’s a miracle, I’m cured,” Kurgm said with no emotion in his voice. “I’m going to go now. Good luck with everything.”

“Make today a bright day,” Sirshi said, mostly out of habit.

“You too.”

As Kurgm walked out of the temple over the freshly cleaned floor that she’d have to sweep again, Sirshi felt better. She finally had peace and quiet.

Even as she continued her chores, something Kurgm had said bothered her.

Don’t you want to help people? Isn’t that why you became an apprentice?

What did it matter if she wanted to help people? People could help themselves, couldn’t they? Why was it her responsibility to help them? But the thought that dug inside her and made itself at home was the worst of the bunch: If she couldn’t help people, could she still be an apprentice?

#VolumeThree #HopeForTheFuture

Later that day, Kurgm’s words were still in Sirshi’s head. She sat in the library with Aonva and Roshil, with a book about the Temple of the Rising Sun open in front of her. She’d read it before, but she wanted to know if every priest had to be like Master Moudren.

I like Master Moudren. But I’m not her. I can’t be her.

Something poked her arm, and she wrenched it back. She settled down somewhat when she saw it was Roshil that had poked her.

“Something wrong?” Roshil whispered.

“I’m fine,” Sirshi snapped, a little louder than she’d meant to.

“You haven’t complained about being here yet. We’ve been here almost an hour, and you haven’t complained about being here almost an hour.”

“So? I thought it annoyed you when I complained.”

Aonva shushed her, then shrank in her seat when Sirshi glared at her. She turned back to Roshil and found a glare waiting for her.

“What?” Sirshi snapped, no longer bothering to keep her voice down. “I’m fine! I don’t need anyone telling me what to do, or that I’m not a ‘people person’ like every other apprentice. So what if I don’t like being around people. What’s the big deal?”

Roshil and Aonva stared at her. Sirshi glared at them, daring one of them to try lecturing her.

“Master Grund doesn’t like people.” Roshil furled her brow and pressed her lips together, which Sirshi had come to learn was her “thinking face”. “I think he might like me, but I can’t think of anyone else he likes.”

Sirshi eased up her glare. Maybe she should’ve realized that Roshil and Aonva weren’t the lecturing type. An Aonva lecture amounted to a long-winded speech about something Aonva liked, but Sirshi could safely tune those out. Roshil engaged Aonva, so there was no need for Sirshi to pay attention.

Aonva turned her eyes down and closed her book.

“We have to go,” she said. “Roshil and I have class soon.”

“Right,” Roshil said, closing her book. To Sirshi, she said, “We can talk later. Or not, if you don’t want to.”

“Sure,” Sirshi said, not sure to what she was agreeing.

She watched her friends go, then packed up her own book and returned it to the shelf. What had Roshil said about Lord Grund? He wasn’t a people person either. Neither was Master Daktra, now that she thought about it. She hadn’t seen her old master in a while, but he’d been a lot like her when she was his apprentice.

On her way out of the library, Sirshi ran into someone who, unlike Roshil and Aonva, had no problem lecturing her, and frequently did.

“Apprentice Sirshi.”

“Master Ekla.”

Sirshi tried to walk past her sister, but Ekla moved to block her path.

“Would you please follow me?”

Sirshi glared at her sister. She had a feeling this would end up being a waste of her time. The last thing she needed was a lecture from her sister.

“Why?”

“I only want to talk. Please?”

“You always ‘only want to talk’. Next thing I know, I’m getting lectured on not being ladylike, or not upsetting father, or—”

“It’s about what Master Moudren told you a few days ago. I want to help.”

Sirshi opened her mouth to snap at her sister, but she remembered the previous year, and her father’s attempts to get her removed from the temple.

“Fine.”

She followed Ekla through the corridors and into the gardens. The sun shone down on the blooming flowers and fresh grass. Children ran while their parents talked and pretended to keep an eye on them. Occasionally, an adult would shout for the children not to kill each other, or not to put something in their mouths.

Why do people even have children? Sirshi stepped aside before one of the terrors could run her over.

Ekla led her to a bench and sat down. Sirshi sat down beside her.

“Why did you choose to become an apprentice?” Ekla asked.

“Because mother and father made me. Remember? It wasn’t like I had a choice.”

“They aren’t making you anymore. So why stay?”

“Why shouldn’t I? I want to be a priest. Don’t think you can talk me out of it. You were the one that wanted me to stay so badly.”

“Serving the court means serving the community. From what I’ve gathered from Master Moudren, you don’t want that.”

“I’m so tired of people telling me what I want! What I can do! ‘You can’t be a priest because it’s not what’s best for the family.’ ‘You can’t be a priest because you get too angry.’ ‘You can’t be a priest because you don’t like people.’ Why can’t everyone just leave me alone?”

Sirshi got to her feet and started to storm off.

“I want you to be a priest.”

Sirshi stopped and turned on her heel to glare at her sister.

“Why?”

“Because it’s what you want. I only want to know why it’s what you want. If it’s only to spite our father, then that’s not a good reason to stay.”

Ekla’s face was impassive, her tone neutral. Sirshi knew she practiced it. This wasn’t her sister, this was the great Master Ekla talking to her.

“I don’t care what he thinks!” Sirshi stormed back over to her sister. “You know why I want to be a priest? Because Master Moudren cares what I think! So what if I’m not good at it? So what if I make people cry instead of making them feel better? I know all the rites and rituals. I like being in the temple. Why can’t everyone leave me alone and let me stay?!”

Sirshi stormed out of the gardens, ignoring the stares people gave her. Who cared what they thought? She certainly didn’t. She was tired of people telling her what to do, what to think, how to act. So what if she wasn’t good with people? She wasn’t convinced her sister was either, but she got by just fine. Why did everyone have a problem with Sirshi?

#VolumeThree #HopeForTheFuture

Five Years Ago

Sirshi ran through the streets of the court. She squeezed her eyes shut to stop the flow of tears, but nothing she did stopped them. It didn’t matter; no one could see her crying, so no one could tell her to stop it.

All you’ll ever be is an embarrassment to this family!

Sirshi didn’t know where she was going. Far away, where she could have another life, with a family that loved her. Did families love their children? Of course they did; hers loved Ekla. But not her. No one loved her. No one wanted her.

I’m sorry I was born!

So am I!

Her lungs were on fire, her feet were throbbing, and her throat was hoarse from choked back sobs. She tripped and fell. Stones scraped her knees and arms as she landed on the road. She struggled to her feet, then kept running. She wouldn’t stop, not until she was free.

Thunder rumbled overhead, and a sheet of rain dropped out of the sky. Sirshi ran toward the closest open building and took shelter inside.

She didn’t recognize where she was. A statue of a woman in a cloak smiled down on a large room with windows all along one wall. There were a few people inside, bowing to the statue. They hardly spared her a glance on their way out.

She smirked as she wandered farther inside. It was a temple. Her family wouldn’t dare follow her in here. She was safe.

“Are you lost?”

Sirshi spun around and saw the woman from the statue standing in the temple. No, not quite, this woman looked shorter. But her smile looked just like the statue’s. She didn’t smile like other adults. Something was different about her.

“You must be freezing,” the woman said. “I’ll fetch you a towel to get you dried off. Then we can take a look at those scrapes.”

The woman led Sirshi over to a supply closet and took out a towel.

“This should do.” She handed Sirshi the towel. “I’m Master Moudren. What’s your name?”


Present Day

Sirshi stood in Master Moudren’s office. Master Moudren herself was sitting quietly, waiting for something, although Sirshi didn’t know what. They’d been silent for almost five minutes. Sirshi knew that because she kept glancing at the clock.

“I spoke with Our Lady Grand Weaver and Master Ekla yesterday,” Master Moudren said at last. “Quite a few people seem to think something is bothering you.”

“I didn’t do anything!” Sirshi shouted. “My sister ambushed me on my way out of the library, and started interrogating me about my apprenticeship! If she has a problem with me, then—”

“I don’t think Master Ekla has a problem with you or your apprenticeship here, so I don’t want to hear about you lashing out at her.”

Sirshi knew by the look Master Moudren was giving her that she wouldn’t be allowed to speak until she’d calmed down, so she forced herself to relax.

“Is there something bothering you?”

Sirshi didn’t want to say anything, but Master Moudren was asking Sirshi’s opinion. She wasn’t assuming anything about her like Ekla did. Master Moudren cared what Sirshi thought.

“I want to be a priest. And I’m so tired of people telling me I can’t be one just because I don’t like being around people! So what? Maybe I’m not good with people! What difference does it make?”

“Apprentice Sirshi,” Master Moudren said, raising her voice to be heard over Sirshi’s rant. “Who is telling you that?”

“First, Kurgm asked me why I was an apprentice at all if I don’t like people, then my sister starts lecturing me and accusing me of only keeping my apprenticeship out of spite, and that’s not true! Just because I don’t know how to help people doesn’t mean I don’t deserve to be a priest! I can do this!”

Master Moudren waited for Sirshi to tire herself out and calm down. After a few minutes of reliving the last few days, Sirshi stopped shouting and calmed down. Even after she finished, Master Moudren remained silent for a few minutes.

“When Our Lady Exalted Priest met with you,” Master Moudren said at last, “she didn’t want to accept your application.”

She immediately held up her hand to stop any outburst from Sirshi.

“Please let me finish before you speak. I promise at no point will I terminate your apprenticeship. I want to explain something to you, and hopefully after that, you will have the answer you’re looking for.”

Sirshi closed her mouth and remained silent.

“She knew we’d met before, and she wanted my opinion. She believed that you were applying to be a priest out of spite for your parents. Knowing you now as I do, and knowing what I do about your parents, I believe she was correct.”

“But—”

The hand went up again, and Sirshi stopped talking.

“But I saw your face when you first walked into the temple. Something inside you changed for just a moment. I knew what you needed was guidance, and that’s what I told her. She assigned you to Master Daktra because the two of you are alike. Neither of you are particularly fond of being around people, and you needed someone who wold take a more hands off approach to your apprenticeship while you learned to trust the court. My insistence was always that you eventually become my apprentice, because I was confident that you already knew where you wanted to be, and that this temple would be the best fit for you.”

Sirshi nodded. Master Moudren had so much confidence in her. Why?

“You’re right. You’re not good with people, and I don’t think you care to be. But as a priest of Olmgra, and I hope one day head priest of your own temple, you will have to talk to people. You will have to listen to them, and you will be expected to give them hope for the future. They will come to you with problems, but I know you can succeed, and do you know why?”

Sirshi shook her head. It all sounded like no one expected her to succeed as a priest, except for Master Moudren.

“Because most of their problems will be because of other people. Whether it be love, family, or friends, other people — not always bad people, mind you — but all the same, other people are often the cause of their problems.”

“Why do they care?” Sirshi asked before she could stop herself.

“And that’s why I know you’ll succeed.” Master Moudren smiled at her. “I’ve heard some of your conversations with your friends. You always ask them that question, and it reminds them to worry more about themselves than other people. It won’t always, of course. Your friends are quite unique.”

Sirshi agreed wholeheartedly with that. Her friends were nothing if not unique.

“But so are you. You have a unique outlook on life, and that’s what you need. It’s not always about fixing problems, it’s about living with them. And in that regard, you’ll do fine.”

Master Moudren stood up from her desk.

“Don’t worry, Apprentice Sirshi. I intend to see that you become a master priest.”

Sirshi bowed to her. Master Moudren was the best. She had known it since that day she’d taken shelter in the Temple of the Rising Sun. If Master Moudren said she could do it, then Sirshi knew she could, too.

#VolumeThree #HopeForTheFuture