The Dragon's Curse, Part III

The dragon was on Roshil’s mind all day. She couldn’t get the idea of meeting with one out of her head. She didn’t want to, she was sure of that. Then why was she still thinking about it? Something in her said she wanted to, but she hated the idea.

It was the curse. The curse that had changed her eyes and her hair. The curse that was spreading scales all over her. Changing her into something else. Something she didn’t want to be. She’d never been normal, but at least she’d been human before.

She met Aonva at the library, and tried to put it out of her mind. She was happy to be with her best friend. No matter how much studying they did, no matter how much she learned about past inventors, she couldn’t keep the dragon out of her mind.

“Aonva, can… can we go to one of the study rooms?”

“Um… I suppose so.”

The girls walked into one of the study rooms in the library. Roshil knew Aonva didn’t like the study rooms, on account of the fact that they made her a little claustrophobic, but Roshil didn’t want anyone to overhear their conversation.

After closing the door, Roshil gave an account of the day’s events.

“A dragon’s coming to the court?” Aonva asked when Roshil was finished. “That’s amazing! Dragons are seen so rarely, especially ones that are willing to talk to humans. Think of everything we could learn. We could…”

Roshil shifted uncomfortably in her seat. Aonva was more excited than Roshil had expected her to be. Dragons were a constant fascination of Aonva’s, and it didn’t surprise her that Aonva was so excited at the possibility of one coming to the court.

“But you don’t want to see it,” Aonva said.

Roshil shook her head, trying to keep herself together for Aonva. The last thing she wanted was to break down around her friend, but if it was safe to open up to anyone, it was Aonva.

“But… how many people get to meet a dragon? There’d be so much we could learn if we met with it. Do you know if it’s a male or female? You said His Majesty knew its name. Dragons are the only creatures that can change their own names, or lie about their names. It’s probably not its real name, because dragons wouldn’t reveal it. Names have so much power in them when it comes to magic. Of course, you know that, you’ve taken the same classes I have. If we met with this dragon—”

“I don’t want to meet a dragon! I didn’t want to meet the last one, and I don’t care about this one! I want to be left alone!”

Aonva recoiled at Roshil’s outburst. Roshil immediately felt guilty for yelling at Aonva.

“I didn’t mean to yell,” Roshil said. “Master Grund wants me to meet with it. With… with her. He said this might be the only chance I’ll ever have to figure out what that… thing did to me.”

Roshil waited for Aonva to say something. They both knew she wanted to. Master Grund was right. They’d exhausted all resources available to humans, and there was nothing. Most people didn’t even know what dragon-touched meant. If anyone could tell them anything about it, it was a dragon. Most of them didn’t talk about it, but this one would.

That didn’t matter to Roshil. She never wanted to see another dragon again.

“Um…”

Aonva’s voice was more like a squeak than an actual word.

“I… I know you don’t want to. But… Lady Emgard told me that when I get scared, ask myself what’s more important: My fear, or what I can gain from the thing of which I’m afraid?”

“I—”

“Please, let me finish,” Aonva said.

Roshil was almost startled by Aonva. She never cut people off.

“I know you’re scared of seeing a dragon again, but I also know you’re scared of what that curse is doing to you. I don’t think His Majesty would’ve asked if there was any problem with this dragon. I think it would be better to talk to it. At least then we might be able to find out something about the curse.”

Aonva trembled, but kept her eyes fixed on Roshil’s. Roshil looked away first. Her hands shook, and her breathing grew shallow. She didn’t want to face another dragon, but Aonva was right. This was the only chance to find out about the curse, and it did scare her. What if the scales grew on her face next? What if she couldn’t hide that she was changing anymore?

When the dragon had attacked the first time, her mother had ran in to protect them. She hadn’t thought twice. Her mother must’ve been afraid too, but she never showed it. She’d always protected them, no matter what. Right up until the end.

Roshil wanted to be like that. She wanted to face this new dragon, whatever the king had called her. Could she do it on her own? No, she wouldn’t be on her own. At least His Majesty, Lord Grund, Lady Emgard, and Lord Velal would be with her. She didn’t have to face a dragon alone.

What if Aonva were there with her? Maybe with Aonva, it wouldn’t be so bad.

“If… if I met with the dragon,” Roshil said. “Would you be there with me?”

“Could I? I’m sure His Majesty has a plan, but if he said it’s okay, I’d be thrilled. I mean, I don’t know that I’ll be of any use, but—”

“Master Grund said I could bring someone with me. I… I think I could face it if you were there.”

Roshil’s face grew hot. She felt like such an idiot. What if Master Grund hadn’t meant a friend? What if he’d meant Master Ekla or her father?

“I don’t know how much good I can be.”

“Just you being there is good enough.”

Roshil smiled, although in her head she was berating herself. It had sounded nice in her head, but ridiculous out loud.

Then Aonva smiled back at her, and everything was alright.

“Okay.”

#VolumeFour #TheDragonsCurse