Spending Time With Friends, Part III

The next day, that question stuck with Oshal. What did he like to do when no one else was around? He rarely had time to himself. He always tried to spend time with other people, whether it be Nourd, Roshil, or Kurgm. Without much time alone, he didn’t know what he liked to do.

He had history with Master Rondin that day. She lectured him on the formation of the court. He’d never had a normal school experience, as he had to have notes read to him, but at least he still got to learn. He wasn’t sure what he’d have done otherwise.

“You’re doing well,” she said as they were finishing up. “We’ll meet next week to review. Do you still have study partners?”

Oshal stood up to leave, then thought about the question. He wasn’t sure anymore.

“I think so. I can always ask Apprentice Aonva for help. Or Apprentice Kurgm.”

He sensed Master Rondin smiling.

“I’m sure Apprentice Aonva would be happy to lecture you on all of this. Until next week, Apprentice Oshal.”

He bowed to her.

“Until then.”

He started out of the classroom, then stopped.

“Master Rondin, what do you like to do for fun?”

“At the end of a long day, I like to sit alone and read. Why do you ask?”

Oshal didn’t want to involve her in his search to find out what it was he liked doing when on his own.

“Just wondering.”

He knew she hadn’t bought it, but she wasn’t going to push it either.

“Take care.”

He walked alone to the gardens, hoping to find Nourd. While he did, he sensed his friend in the Druid’s garden, where he wasn’t allowed. A little let down, Oshal turned to leave for the library. Hopefully his sister and Aonva would be there again.

“Oshal?”

Oshal smiled and turned to the voice.

“Hello, Kurgm. How are you?”

“Good. Enjoying this nice, warm season day. What about you? Looking for Nourd?”

“I was, but he’s busy.”

“Well, I’m free. I’m not doing much, just watching the bees, mostly. My mother used to say…”

Light and dark dueled inside him, both vying for control. There was something else, just beneath the surface, something trying to break free. While weavers couldn’t hear peoples’ thoughts, Oshal could sense something inside Kurgm. He’d asked Master Ekla once, but she’d told him to leave it, so he tried to ignore it.

“What did she say?”

“She’d say that bees always worked together to help one another, and that we should learn from them. They work hard for the hive, never for themselves.”

Kurgm led him to a bench and they both sat down.

Oshal felt the sun on his face and smiled. He missed the days of seeing a bright blue sky overhead. He could still hear the birds chirping and children playing, so he could imagine it. It had to be good enough.

“Your mother sounds like a nice person.”

“She was.”

They sat in silence for a time, while they listened to the bees drone by.

“Once, me and some friends found a bee’s nest,” Oshal said. “One friend dared another to touch it, and it angered them. They went after all of us, and a lot of my friends got stung. But Roshil was there too. She tackled me to the ground and covered me. She got stung all over, but I barely got stung at all.”

Oshal eased into the memory. Despite wanting to run away, he’d felt safe with his sister watching out for him. He’d always imagined returning the favor, but he could only do so much for her.

“As much as your sister gets on my nerves, seeing you two together makes me wish I’d had siblings. All I had growing up was the kitchen staff, and sometimes Master Ekla.”

“She’s a good big sister, too.”

Kurgm laughed. “Sure, let’s go with that.”

Despite his answer, Oshal sensed that Kurgm agreed with him. There was conflict in him once again, between raging fire and distant ice, but there was light there too.

Oshal figured Kurgm wanted a different subject, so he asked Kurgm the question that’d been on his mind all day.

“What do you like to do for fun?”

“With all five minutes of free time I have on a normal day? I’m doing it now. Just sitting and watching the gardens. I would’ve been doing this with Demndun, but… we’re not together anymore.”

A shroud of darkness filled Kurgm’s mind. Oshal felt him curl up inside it. On the outside, Kurgm put on a veil of false happiness, but Oshal could still see through it to the misery underneath.

“I’m sorry,” Oshal said.

“It’s fine. I’ll be fine, it’s just… I thought me and her were going somewhere, but she was different than I thought. I guess people change.”

People did change. What happened when his sister changed? What if she didn’t want to spend time with him anymore? What happened when they were separated, assigned to different cities in the kingdom? What happened when he was moved to a different city and had to make new friends? What would he do?

“I don’t know what I like to do,” Oshal said. “I always do what everyone else does, but it’s not always what I want to do.”

“Then don’t. If I’ve learned anything these past few months, it’s that you shouldn’t do what everyone else wants unless it’s what you want.”

“What if I don’t know what I want?”

“I think you’ll find out eventually. You can get along with anyone. Just keep trying new things until you find something you like to do. I never got to do much of anything growing up. I barely left the castle. Now I can’t wait to leave for my assignment.” He paused for a moment. “You’ll always have Roshil, right?”

He was right. No matter how much Roshil changed, she’d always be his sister. They’d always be family.

“Thank you, Kurgm. I feel a lot better now.”

A burst of warmth erupted in Kurgm’s mind.

“Ha! One day, I’ll get the hang of being a knight!”

Oshal laughed with him.

“I know you will.”

#VolumeFour #SpendingTimeWithFriends