Getting Along, Part II

The argument stuck with Oshal for the rest of the day. Why were Roshil and Kurgm so angry at one another? What had happened between them? How did it involve Aonva?

Oshal should’ve realized that the more something bothered him, the more likely Nourd would be to pick up on it.

“You smell different today,” Nourd said. “Elder Wolf smelled like that when the other tribes were fighting over territory.”

They were together in the gardens. Grand Master Gorkle and Master Durwey weren’t far, but they were at least pretending not to eavesdrop on their conversation. Oshal liked the feel of the gardens. Especially with the warm season returning, children were running around and playing together. He liked children; they were always so happy about something.

Oshal explained to Nourd what had happened that morning. When he finished, Nourd had a suggestion.

“The best way is to let them fight it out,” Nourd said. “Elder Wolf told me that.”

“Apprentices aren’t allowed to fight each other. They shouldn’t have to fight or argue. I’m sure they can talk it out. They used to be friends, I think. I don’t know what happened. Last year, Roshil stopped spending time with anyone. At least she’s spending time with Aonva again.”

“Is Aonva the girl that acts like a squirrel?”

Oshal laughed. “Yeah, that’s her. She’s my sister’s best friend. Roshil’s never really had friends before, so it’s good that she does. I’m worried, though. I know how Roshil handles people that annoy her, and it doesn’t go well for anyone. She’s… crafty.”

“Like a fox.”

“A little. But in a good way, I think.” Before Nourd could continue the conversation that Oshal really didn’t want to be having, he changed the subject. “Didn’t you say you’re going to be eating in the great hall soon?”

“Master Gorkle said I will be eating in the great hall in one month. I am learning about human things now. Your world is still confusing.”

“What sorts of human things?”

“Master Gorkle says since I would not do well in school, the humans are teaching me under hir supervision. I do not know what this ‘school’ is. It is a new word.”

“School is where you sit at a desk, which is like a chair with a small table in front of you, and someone teaches you and a bunch of other people something.”

“How long must I sit at this ‘desk’?”

“Around an hour, but there are different classes. When one is finished, you go to the next one for another hour. That’s what you do most of the day.”

“That sounds horrible. I do not think I would enjoy this ‘school’.”

“Aonva’s the only person I know who enjoys it. Most people get through it so they can learn what they need to. You only go until you’re an adult.”

After a bit of silence, Oshal asked, “What about the Temple of Words? Have you gone back?”

“I have. I enjoy hearing their poems.”

“That’s good. Have you ever heard singing?”

“I have heard the birds sing.”

“Humans sing like that, but they put words to it. Like reading poems, but with music.”

“That sounds interesting. Can you sing?”

“Not well,” Oshal said, laughing. “My family traveled around a lot, so we got to see and hear all sorts of performances. Performers travel around a lot too. Maybe we can go to one sometime.”

“I think I would like that. Can we go to one tomorrow?”

“I don’t think there is one tomorrow. Master Durwey would know, though. I’ll ask her, and maybe we’ll find one. It’s the warm season, so I’m sure there will be plenty.”

Master Durwey cleared her throat. She’d gotten into the habit of doing that, since he couldn’t sense her approaching otherwise.

“Apprentice Oshal, it’s time to get going.”

“Okay.” Oshal smiled at Nourd. “I’ll see you soon, okay?”

“I look forward to it. I hope you smell better tomorrow.”

Oshal laughed. He liked the way Nourd talked. “Me too.”

On his way out of the gardens, he sensed Kurgm.

“May I please talk with my friend for a minute?”

“You have a few minutes.”

“Thank you.” Oshal turned toward Kurgm. “Apprentice Kurgm!”

Unlike earlier, Kurgm was happy to see him. Oshal could still sense some lingering anger, though, along with guilt.

“Hi, Oshal.” Oshal couldn’t see it, but he sensed Kurgm bow. “My Lady Grand Weaver.”

“Apprentice Kurgm. I’ll let you two be for a few minutes, but we must be going after that.”

Once Master Durwey was far enough away, Oshal asked Kurgm about that morning.

“Why are you angry at my sister?”

“Did they tell you about the bracelet?” Kurgm asked.

Oshal shook his head.

“Roshil enchanted a bracelet and gave it to Aonva. It gave her a splitting headache, bad enough that it shook up Aonva.”

Oshal felt short of breath. He didn’t know what to say to that. His sister had enchanted Aonva?

“Master Durwey said that Roshil had enchanted another apprentice, but… it couldn’t be Aonva. Roshil wouldn’t do that.”

“She did. I was there. She breaks all sorts of rules. Me and Master Ekla caught her trying to break into the West Tower a while back, before you were an apprentice. Roshil was annoyed that Aonva was spending more time with me than with her, so she enchanted the bracelet to get payback.”

“But…” Oshal didn’t want to believe it, but it wasn’t that far from what he’d seen Roshil do in the past. Despite their mother’s influence, their father had taught them never to go at someone from the front. Always go from the side. Was that what Roshil had done? She wouldn’t do that to Aonva, though. Would she?

“I know she’s your sister, but I don’t trust her. I know Aonva’s talking to her again, but I don’t think it’s a good idea.”

“What isn’t?”

“Trusting her.”

“But—”

“Just leave it. I’ve got to go. We’ll talk later.”

“Okay. Bye.”

As Kurgm walked off, Oshal realized he didn’t know the other half of the story. If the bracelet was why Kurgm was angry at Roshil, why was Roshil angry at Kurgm? And had Roshil really hurt Aonva on purpose? That didn’t seem like her. Oshal resolved to talk to his sister and get the answers.

#VolumeThree #GettingAlong