Fitting In, Part V

Ekla walked through the court. Even though she’d been a master druid for several months, she still wasn’t used to not needing a cloak to keep her warm.

You can draw heat from the earth. She has plenty to spare.

She passed the gardens and wondered about Kurgm. She wasn’t sure about his new friends, but if he was happy for now, she’d keep a good thought.

Following the river, Ekla arrived at the cemetery and pushed the gate open. She nodded to the groundskeeper on her way past, making her way through the tombstones. In other cities, more prominent members of society got bigger, more elaborate tombstones. But in the court, everyone was equal, so officers and common folk alike where treated the same.

There’s nothing common about them, Apprentice Ekla. Everyone is extraordinary in their own way.

She found her way to one grave in particular.

Lady Enrakal Mother, Wife, Sister, Friend Protecting Olmgra’s Kingdom as she protected ours

“My Lady.” Ekla bowed respectfully, then knelt down in front of the grave. “I know I haven’t been by to visit in a while. I’ve been busy.”

That’s because you’ve always worked too hard.

“Kurgm is doing well. He’s struggling to make friends. I wish I could say he was talking with Apprentice Aonva again, but I don’t know where they stand, or what happened. He won’t talk about it. Sometimes I see him looking at her like he wants to talk to her again, but something’s stopping him. He’s getting friendly with Apprentice Demndun, though. Lady Emgard says she’s sweet, and I think that will be good for him. I still wish he’d get back with Apprentice Aonva, but that’s because she reminds me a lot of myself at her age. I don’t think they were ever a couple, but I could see it starting. Then your brother happened and…”

Ekla stopped herself before she got too far. She couldn’t prove that Amnadm had had anything to do with Kurgm not talking to Aonva anymore, but the timing couldn’t have been a coincidence. Amnadm was like a tornado; he swept in and wrecked everything in his path, especially where Kurgm was involved.

“He really wants to make you proud. I did too, when I was his age. I know I say it every time I visit, but thank you for believing in me. For seeing past what my father wanted from me.”

Her mind drifted away for a moment, back to another time. She didn’t let it linger there long.

“He’ll make a good knight one day. He’d never believe it now, but I know he will. Lord Velal did a good job raising him. He still checks in on Kurgm sometimes. Better than—” She stopped herself before making another remark about Amnadm.

Kurgm’s only living relative, and he can’t be bothered to write to him. Fine. It’s fine. It’s probably for the best.

She took several deep breaths to calm herself down.

“They’re both doing great.”

And how are you doing, Master Ekla?

“I’m working on my priest apprenticeship. Lady Runslo says I’m almost finished, but she’s been saying that for months, so I think she just says that. I’ve learned a lot about the different religions. I’m still not going to join a temple, but I’ve learned they do a lot more than I realized.”

She smiled for a moment, but she could feel Lady Enrakal’s stare on her, looking straight past her facade. Ekla could never lie to her.

“Sometimes I feel like I’ve got to look out for three apprentices. I know Lord Grund looks out for Apprentice Roshil, but I feel responsible for her. And I want to know that my father didn’t do too much damage to Sirshi. I thought… I thought if they gave each other a chance, they’d come to some sort of understanding. I thought I could give him a chance, but he threw it in Sirshi’s face. I want to know that telling our father how she was doing won’t hurt her anymore.”

Ekla took a breath and reminded herself that neither Apprentice Aonva nor Apprentice Oshal needed her to look out for them. Neither did Sirshi or Roshil, but Ekla felt like it was her responsibility. She understood what they were all going through, and she wanted to help them through it.

Apprentice Ekla, you shouldn’t work so hard. You’ll make the rest of us look bad.

Ekla let out a quick laugh, then straightened up. Sometimes, she truly believed that Lady Enrakal was listening. Even if she wasn’t, Ekla could imagine what she’d say.

“When Lord Velal took charge of Kurgm, I could tell it was hard. He tried so hard not to let it show, but I could still see it. The more I remember about it, the more I see it. It’s hard for me too. I keep wishing I knew exactly what to say to make him happy. To see him happy, but I don’t know. He isn’t like everyone else.” She smiled at the grave. “Of course, he’s not. He’s your son.”

Ekla stood up and bowed.

“I should go. I’ve got a lot to do. I’ll keep taking care of him as best I can.”

I know you will. Just make sure you’re taking care of yourself, too.

“Of course, My Lady.”

She bowed again, then bowed to the grave next to hers.

Master Soorgom Father, Husband, Friend A mind such as his doesn’t come by often

Apart from knowing him as “The Brilliant Master Soorgom”, Ekla hadn’t known Kurgm’s father well. Nevertheless, she took time to pay her respects to both his parents.

Ekla turned and started out of the cemetery. A calming feeling came over her. She could hear the sounds of the court not far away, but a peace prevailed inside the cemetery. She walked among the greats of Skwyr Court.

Before she left, Ekla stopped at one last grave. As far as she knew, it was the one grave in the entire cemetery whose occupant had never stepped foot inside the court.

Prenowla Loving Mother and Wife Protecting the innocent to the very end

“I’ll keep your family safe,” Ekla said as she bowed. “I promise.”

#VolumeThree #FittingIn