Fitting In, Part I

“That’s enough for today,” Master Ekla said, lowering her sword.

Kurgm felt like he’d collapse any moment. His own sword felt like lead in his hands. He wiped away sweat from his eyes.

“You sure?” he asked, panting. “I don’t know, I think I have you right where I want you.”

She sheathed her sword. “Sure. You should have enough time to wash up before dinner. Rest assured, this doesn’t come up much. The court prefers to think and reason through problems than applying brute force.”

He put away his own sword and grabbed his pack. He returned to his room and washed up. After putting the sword away, Kurgm started down to dinner.

Acting on instinct, he started down to the kitchens, but stopped.

You can’t be eating down in the kitchens. You will eat upstairs like an apprentice.

Kurgm didn’t much care for eating in the great hall, but as an apprentice, it was expected of him. Even with standing permission to eat in the kitchens, he knew he should be eating with the others.

He turned around and started back to the great hall, where apprentices were already starting to gather. He glanced around the tables and spotted Roshil and Aonva sitting together. Maybe Aonva wouldn’t mind him sitting with her again.

When the stress gets too much for her, she’ll crack and leave the court. If she isn’t having one problem, she’ll be having another. Once you forget about this incident, I’m sure they’ll be another.

Kurgm turned away and spotted Demndun. She saw him and smiled. He liked the way she smiled. It reminded him of the first rays of sun peeking through the temple windows.

He walked over and sat down next to her.

“Where’s everyone else?” he asked.

“I don’t know.” She grinned. “Your hair’s all wet.”

“Combat practice. Every knight needs to be ready to defend people in case a situation gets violent. I washed up before I came here.”

“You look really clean.”

“Oh. Um… thank you.”

Demndun found something interesting on the table that absorbed her attention.

“What did you do today?” Kurgm asked.

“I—”

“Decided to grace us with your presence?” Cremwa asked as she sat down on the other side of Demndun. Zifor and Muwen were right behind her, and sat down across from the three of them.

“I finished early,” Kurgm said. “Well, earlier than—”

“Some of us actually like spending time with people,” Cremwa said. “I’ve been helping Demndun with arcane language after dinner while you’ve been learning to be a soldier.”

“That depends on how you define ‘helping’,” Demndun muttered.

“Knights aren’t soldiers,” Kurgm said. “We’re—”

“I wouldn’t expect a knight to understand a mage.” She turned away from him and started to say something, but was cut off by the sound of every apprentice standing at attention.

The officers walked in, following by King Fohra. When the seven of them took their seats, Cremwa started talking again.

“Can you believe Apprentice Kemdra?” Cremwa said as she started putting food on her plate. “The nerve of her. She accused me of cheating today.”

“She’s just jealous,” Muwen said through a mouthful of food. “Probably annoyed that you have time to make friends.”

“Cheating’s a big deal,” Kurgm said. “You could—”

“You’re right,” Cremwa said, ignoring Kurgm. “She is jealous. Not everyone can be as perfect as me, right Demndun?”

“Sure.”

Kurgm realized Oshal hadn’t arrived yet. He looked around the great hall and spotted Oshal sitting with another group of apprentices.

“Why’s Oshal sitting over there?” Kurgm said, taking advantage of Cremwa having food in her mouth.

“He’s friends with everyone,” Zifor said. “He doesn’t always sit with us.”

“Which you’d know if you ever showed up,” Cremwa added. She turned her attention back to Zifor and Muwen.

“It’s alright,” Demndun said. “I like that you work hard.” She glanced at Cremwa and agreed with something Kurgm hadn’t caught.

“It’s not always a choice,” Kurgm said. “Master Ekla works me pretty hard.”

“But you still keep up. That’s something. I can’t always keep up with what Master Silbrom tells me. She talks really fast sometimes. Not that I’m complaining or anything.”

“What are you two whispering about?” Zifor asked, a goofy grin on his face.

“What slackers weavers are,” Muwen said through a laugh.

Zifor responded by punching him in the arm.

“I think we were talking about me,” Cremwa said, glaring at Kurgm. “Stop trying to hog all the attention.”

“I wasn’t—”

“Like I was saying before I was so rudely interrupted…”

Kurgm was starting to get the sense that Cremwa had a problem with him. He didn’t know what it was, but this wasn’t the first time she’d been like this. Even then, Kurgm thought she was worse than usual.

“Demndun,” he said while Zifor and Muwen had Cremwa distracted, “I was wondering if you’d like to go to the gardens after dinner. I know it’s cold out, but I thought it might be nice.”

Demndun looked down and shook her head. “I’m sorry. I promised Cremwa we would study together tonight.” She tried smiling, but still looked sad. “I really am sorry. I have an exam tomorrow, and I need the extra help.”

After dinner, Kurgm walked alone to the gardens.

He wrapped a cloak and scarf around himself, then trudged through a fresh layer of snow. Despite the snow, children still ran around the gardens, illuminated by floating orbs of light. Druids went to their sleeping area, made distinct by being the only ones not bundled up. Near the end of the procession, walking slowly off to the side, was Oshal. He walked alongside a druid.

“Oshal!” Kurgm called.

Oshal twitched his head and smiled. He and his friend made their way to Kurgm.

“Hello, Kurgm.” He motioned to his friend. “This is Apprentice Nourd. He’s a druid.”

“I figured. No one else would be warm this time of year without a cloak.”

“Why is there glass on your face?” Nourd asked.

“They’re glasses,” Kurgm said, adjusting them. “They help me see.”

“Why? Are you blind like Oshal?” He turned to Oshal. “Why do you not use glass?”

“I’m not blind, I just have trouble seeing things far away.”

Nourd stepped closer and smelled him.

“Um…” Kurgm didn’t know how to respond to any of that. Being smelled by someone was a first for him.

“I remember you,” Nourd said. “You were the male that the female wanted to mate with.”

Kurgm wouldn’t have thought a situation in which he’d been smelled could’ve been made more awkward, but Nourd had found a way.

“Nourd, that wasn’t polite,” Oshal said.

“But—”

“It wasn’t polite.”

Nourd frowned at Oshal. “Is this another part of ‘manners’?”

“Yes.”

“Which part? Am I not supposed to remember people?”

“No, but…” Oshal turned to Kurgm. “Excuse us, Kurgm. It was nice to talk to you again.”

“Yeah. You too.”

Oshal led Nourd away, talking in a low voice.

Kurgm watched them go. He didn’t feel like spending time in the gardens anymore. Even being around Oshal, which usually made him feel more comfortable, didn’t have its usual effect.

Maybe I just can’t get along with other people.

#VolumeThree #FittingIn