Breaking the Rules, Part III

Kurgm’s breathing grew shallow. His gaze darted from Master Ekla, to Demndun, and back. They’d been caught. Of course they’d been caught. Master Ekla had probably known the second curfew had started that he wasn’t in the castle.

“He ratted on us!” Muwen said. “I knew it! Your boyfriend ratted us out!”

“Muwen, shut up,” Demndun said through clenched teeth.

How had Kurgm missed her footsteps? Of course, she was probably using a technique she hadn’t taught him yet. He glanced at Demndun, who had released his arm. She didn’t think he’d told her, did she?

“You four, march.”

Master Ekla waved them in front of her. Kurgm followed her orders immediately, but the others hesitated.

“If you’re thinking of running, I’ll save you some time. You can’t hide from us. And you will face consequences for your actions. Might as well get it over with.”

With a little more prompting from Master Ekla, the four of them started walking back toward the castle. She stayed behind them, her eyes burning a hole in the back of Kurgm’s head. Her gaze dared them to try something.

“I can’t believe you told her,” Demndun hissed, just loud enough for Kurgm to hear.

“I didn’t. I—”

“We’ve never been caught before, then the first time you come, your master finds us. I’m not stupid.”

“When you say ‘before’,” Master Ekla said, “do you mean a few times, or is this a regular occurrence?”

They both looked at Master Ekla, who must’ve been ten feet behind them. Too far to have heard them.

She’s using the same technique I was using. She’s waiting for us to give her more information.

Demndun didn’t talk to him the rest of the walk back. When they arrived, three people were waiting for them. Each one took another of his friends with them, leaving him alone with Master Ekla.

“What’s going to happen to them?”

“That’s not up to me.” She started walking. “I’m only responsible for you. Follow.”

He glanced behind him, but his friends were out of sight. He wished he could go after them and convince them this wasn’t his fault. Maybe it was his fault. Demndun was right. Master Ekla had been the one to find them. His master, no one else’s. She must’ve checked on him earlier. But why?

His mind jumped back to earlier in the library. Roshil had seen them. Had she said something? Why would she have said something?

Master Ekla brought him to an empty study room and closed the door behind them.

“You grew up in this castle. You were raised on obedience and loyalty to the court. The same man raised us, instilled the same values in us. What do you think Our Lord True Knight will say when I tell him that his ward broke curfew? Did you think of that when you stayed out? Did you think of anything except your girlfriend? No, you didn’t. You… you broke the rules on a whim!”

Kurgm fought the urge to slouch, to try and shrink into the background. Everything kept getting worse.

“There is no excuse for this! When Oshal said you’d had a fight with Demndun, I figured it couldn’t have been too bad, since I saw you two sitting together at dinner. But I thought ‘No, I’ll check on him just in case he wants to talk.’ Imagine my surprise when your thread led out of the castle!”

Kurgm had never seen Master Ekla so angry. She didn’t need to keep yelling at him; he was ashamed of himself enough already.

“I’m revoking your free reign privileges.”

“Yes, Master Ekla.”

“What were you thinking, staying out after curfew? Do you realize how dangerous the court can be at night?”

“I… I wanted to spend time with my friends.”

“The friends that pick on you. The friends that harass you. The friends that hate Apprentices Roshil and Nourd. I’m going to guess that your ‘friends’ have nothing nice to say about them. The same friends that pushed you into breaking the rules.” She sighed. “The court can’t be everywhere at once. At night, we walk around and check on people, but there’s plenty that goes on that we can’t stop. That’s why there are places apprentices aren’t allowed to go without supervision. It’s not as bad in the day, but they’re all more active at night. It’s dangerous. You could’ve been killed.”

“I… I’m sorry.”

“You were listening for me.”

Kurgm shuffled his feet. “Yes.”

“That wasn’t a question, but thank you for being honest. I followed you four for a little while before making myself known. I heard you tell them you were listening. You were helping them avoid a patrol. You’re more than just an unwitting victim, you’re an accomplice.”

Not knowing what else to do, Kurgm nodded.

“How were they going to get back inside?”

“There’s…” Kurgm hated saying anything else, but what choice did he have? Were they even still his friends? Maybe he shouldn’t say anything else.

“Forge, school, gardens, library, temples. No one would risk sneaking in or out through the gardens, not under His Majesty’s nose, plus several dozen druids. The forge is the second most secure facility in the court. The library is locked up after curfew to avoid theft. So it has to be either one of the temples or the school.”

“I… I…”

“Fine. I expect you to tell me tomorrow. Go to your room and get some rest. You still don’t have free reign privileges.”

“Yes, Master Ekla.”

He started to leave, then stopped. His free reign privileges had just been revoked.

“Does that start now?”

“Yes, it does.”

Master Ekla walked out of the room and led him back to the north tower.

“Good night, Apprentice Kurgm.”

“Good night, Master Ekla.”

As he threw his pack in his room, he thought of the look of betrayal on his friends’ faces. Were they even still his friends? After that night, did he still have friends?

#VolumeFour #BreakingTheRules