Absolute Understanding, Part IV

Their table was quiet at dinner. Oshal was the only one who tried to get anyone to talk, but no one else was in the mood. Kurgm wasn’t at their table, and Nourd didn’t have questions at that particular moment.

Aonva was worried about Roshil. She usually had something to say, but today, she was silent. Was she upset that Aonva hadn’t had time for her? Roshil hadn’t responded to her brother’s prompting, so Aonva didn’t want to keep prying.

“Roshil, would you like to work in the library?” Aonva asked after dinner. She smiled, hoping it was enough to cheer up Roshil.

Please don’t be my fault. Please don’t be my fault.

Roshil shook her head, avoiding Aonva’s gaze.

“I can’t. I have work to do in the forge.”

“Maybe tomorrow?”

“I’m busy.”

Roshil turned and walked through the crowd of people.

Aonva watched her go, her heart sinking. She’d only put off Roshil for a day. She wouldn’t have thought it’d be this bad. But then again, they were best friends. Roshil didn’t really have anyone else. And Aonva hadn’t been able to tell Roshil why she couldn’t talk to her.

Aonva hung her head. Surely Roshil would be okay, right? What if she wasn’t? Aonva didn’t want to go back to the way things had been last year. The two of them never talking. Aonva having no friends.

“What happened?”

Aonva jumped at Oshal’s voice. Her friend smiled apologetically.

“I didn’t mean to startle you. Roshil’s been upset. Do you know why?”

“She’s not supposed to work in the forge after dinner. But… I’ve had an assignment from Lady Emgard, and it’s taken so much of my time, and I feel like I don’t have time for anyone else.”

“Then perhaps you shouldn’t be working so hard.”

Aonva jumped again. She wondered why people had to keep sneaking up on her as she stood to attention.

“My Lady! I promise I haven’t said anything about it to anyone!”

Oshal frowned at them.

“I think I should go back to my room,” he said. “Good night, My Lady. Good night, Aonva.”

“Good night, Apprentice Oshal.”

Oshal followed the crowd to the north tower. After it thinned out, Lady Emgard spoke.

“I’m sure there’s no need to worry, just as I’m sure you will anyway. When Apprentice Roshil arrives at the forge, she’ll talk to Lord Grund, who will set her straight. When he does, I’m sure she’ll want to talk to you.”

Aonva gazed down the corridor.

“I don’t know, My Lady. Roshil didn’t want anything to do with me.”

“She’s only upset that you worked too hard. Much harder than you needed to work, I might add. I wasn’t expecting results until at least next week.”

Aonva looked back to Lady Emgard, who smiled back at her.

“Apprentice Aonva, being hardworking is a commendable trait to possess, but one mustn’t let one’s work be all-consuming. I understand that I’m not the only one asking something of you. If you feel overworked, or even if you don’t have time for your friends, I will think no lesser of you for speaking up.”

Lady Emgard nodded down the corridor. “This is twice, I believe, that you’ve done this. Allowed the work you do for Apprentice Roshil to limit the time you have to spend with her. Next time you find that happening, take a break. Spend time with the ones for whom you care. After all, it’s for them that people like us work so hard.”

Aonva nodded. She forgot that sometimes. Learning more and more about dragons, she loved it. But it wasn’t as much fun without Roshil with her.

“Thank you, My Lady.”

“It’s the pleasure of wizened people, such as myself, to share our wisdom with those who have time left to use it.” She motioned down the corridor. “I believe they’re waiting for you.”

Aonva bowed to Lady Emgard, then started off to the forge. She tried rehearsing what she was going to say, but nothing sounded right.

She stepped through the door to the forge. None of the fires were going. No sound of metal hitting metal. But there was Roshil, sitting with Lord Grund.

“Right on time,” Lord Grund said. “Emgard said you were on your way.”

After some prompting from Lord Grund, Roshil stood up and walked over to Aonva.

“I’m sorry,” Roshil said. “I should’ve realized you had something important to do.”

“And?” Lord Grund’s voice boomed through the forge.

“And… it upsets me when you push me aside for work. I want to work together, and I didn’t understand why you couldn’t tell me. I should’ve trusted that there was a good reason.”

Aonva was a little startled. Roshil rarely opened up this much about her feelings.

“I’m sorry too. I shouldn’t have worked so hard. I get caught up sometimes, and I forget about what’s really important.” She smiled at Roshil, but quickly looked away. “Who’s important.”

For a moment, neither said a word.

“It was about the dragon, wasn’t it?” Roshil asked.

“I… um… I’m not supposed to say.”

“It’s okay. You really don’t have to. The way you and Master Grund have been talking about your work, or not talking about it, I can tell you’re avoiding the subject. There’s only one subject people avoid around me.” Her gaze fell to the floor. “Thank you for whatever it is. I don’t know exactly what your secret assignment is, but I know you’re doing it for me.”

Roshil lifted her head and they smiled at one another. Aonva was glad she still had her best friend. She couldn’t think of anyone that meant more to her.

“Great, we’re all friends!” Lord Grund shouted, startling Aonva. “Now get out!”

“We’re going!” Roshil shouted back.

“I can’t believe you yell at him like that,” Aonva said, glancing over her shoulder as they left.

“We do that all the time. It’s how we talk.”

Aonva found herself laughing with Roshil as they walked back to their rooms. Her and her best friend. The person she understood most in the world. The more she thought about it, Roshil was the only one she really understood. She knew more about Valignatiejir now. It wasn’t enough yet, but she’d keep searching for a way to stop him. To keep Roshil safe.

Whatever it takes. I’ll keep her safe.

#VolumeFour #AbsoluteUnderstanding